Training Grants

Active UC Irvine Training Grants

Please confirm all data, regarding application dates and requirements with PIs and faculty

Current NIH Training Grants

T32AR080622-01
​PI: Andersen, Bogi
949-824-9093
bogi@uci.edu
PI: Ganesan, Anand
949-824-0606
aganesan@uci.edu
​Trainees: Graduate students and Post-doctorate Trainees
Project Period: 2022-2027
Link for abstract

T32 NS045540
PI: Baram, Tallie Z.
(949) 824-1131, 1063
tallie@uci.edu
Trainees: Graduate students and Post-doctoral Trainees
Program Period: 2003-2024
NIH T32- Gynecology Oncology Fellowship Program
T32 CA060396
PI: Bristow, Robert
(714) 456-5968
Trainees: MD Gyn/Onc Fellows Only
Project Period:1994-2021
T32 AG000096
PI: Cotman, Carl 
(949) 824-5847
cwcotman@uci.edu
PI: Andrea J. Tenner 
(949) 824-3268
atenner@uci.edu
Trainees: Predoc/ Postdoc
Project Period: 1982-2024

T32 CA009054-41
PI: Fruman, David
(949) 824-1947, 2274
dfruman@uci.edu
PI: Edinger, Aimee
(949) 824-1921
aedinger@uci.edu
Trainees: Graduate students and Post-doctorate Trainees
Project Period: 1980-2026
Link for abstract

T32 GM008620 
PI: Goldin, Alan L.
(949) 824-5334, 8508
Trainees: Graduate students (MD/PhD students only)
Project Period: 1999-2024
NIH T32 - Training in Translational ADRD Neuroscience (TITAN)

T32AG073088-01 
PI: Grill, Joshua
(949) 824-5905
jgrill@uci.edu 
PI: Head, Elizabeth
(949) 824-1225
heade@uci.edu
Trainees: Graduate students and Post-doctorate Trainees
Project Period: 2021-2026
Link for abstract

T32 HL116270
PI: Hughes, Christopher C.W.
(949) 824-8771, 8143, 3379 
cchughes@uci.edu
Trainees: Graduate students and Post-doctorate Trainees
Project Period: 2013-2021
NIH T32- Mathematical, Computational & Systems Biology
T32GM136624 
PI: Lander, Arthur D. 
(949) 824-1721 
PI: Nie, Qing 
(949) 824-5530 
Trainees: Graduate students 
Project Period: 2020-2025 
NIH T32-Neuroimmunology Training Program

T32NS121727-
PI: Lane, Thomas
tlane@uci.edu
949-824-1360
PI:Green, Kim
kngreen@uci.edu
949- 824-3859
Trainees: Graduate students
Project Period: 2022-2027
Link for abstract: (No link yet)

NIH T32 For Training In Microbiology & Infectious Diseases
T32AI14134
PI: Lodoen, Melissa B.
(949) 824-7805
mlodoen@uci.edu
PI: Goulding, Celia
(949) 824-0337, 4-3379
PI: Martiny, Jennifer
(949) 824-0487
Trainees: Graduate students
Project Period: 2019-2024
T32 DC010775
PI: Metherate, Raju 
(949) 824-6141
raju.metherate@uci.edu
Trainees: Graduate students and Post-doctorate Trainees
Project Period: 2010-2025

​T32EY032448
PI:Palczewski, Krzysztof
949-824-6527​
kpalczew@uci.edu
​Trainees: Graduate students
Project Period: 2022-2027
Link for abstract 

T32 AI060573
PI: Pearlman, Eric 
(949) 824-1867
eric.pearlman@uci.edu
Trainees: Graduate students
Project Period: 2010-2021
T32 AI007319 
PI: Semler, Bert 
(949) 824-7573, 6058
blsemler@uci.edu
Trainees: Graduate students
Project Period: 2013-2025
T32 NS082174
PI: Thompson, Leslie M.
(949) 824-6756, 1910
lmthomps@uci.edu
PI: Donovan, Peter J.
(949) 824-3691
Trainees: Graduate students
Project Period: 2013-2023
NIH T32 Training Program in Substance Use Disorders
T32 DA050558 
PI: Wood, Marcelo
(949) 824-2259
mwood@uci.edu
Trainees: Graduate students
Project Period: 2020-2025

Link for Abstract

T32 MH119049
PI: Yassa, Michael A.
(949) 824-9642
PI: McNaughton, Bruce L.
(949) 824-9642
Trainees: Graduate students
Project Period: 2019-2024
T32 Supplements:
Mentor Training to enhance mentorship in an interdisciplinary training program

3T32GM136624-02S1
PI: Lander, Arthur D. 
(949) 824-1721 
adlander@uci.edu 
PI: Nie, Qing 
(949) 824-5530 
qnie@uci.edu 
Project Period: 2020-2025
Link for abstract

NIH/ R25
NIH R25 Systems Biology: A Foundation for Interdisciplinary Careers
R25GM126365-03 **
PI: Encisco, German A. 
(949) 824-3727
enciso@uci.edu
Trainees: Short Term Training
Project Period: 2017-2022
NIH R25 MBRS IMSD Program at the University of California, Irvine
R25GM055246
PI:  Mota-Bravo, Luis 
(949) 824-5680
lmota@uci.edu
Trainees: Graduate students
Project Period: 1996-2022
NIH R25 A short Course in Cancer Systems Biology
R25CA214654-03 **
PI: Waterman, Marian L.  (MMG) 
(949) 824-2885, 3096 
marian.waterman@uci.edu
PIs: Lowengrub, John S. (Mathematics) 
(949) 824-8456 
jlowengr@uci.edu
Trainees: Short Term Training
Project Period: 2017-2022
NIH R25 Orange County Bridges to the Baccalaureate Program
R25GM056647
PI: Mota-Bravo, Luis
(949) 824-5680
lmota@uci.edu
Trainees: Short Term Training for Community College Students
Project Period: 2017-2022
NIH R25 Broadening Research Achievement in Neurosciences (Brain) for a Diverse Workforce.
R25NS112136
PI: Mota-Bravo, Luis
(949) 824-5680
lmota@uci.edu
PI: De La Cruz, Marlene
(949) 824-2589
PI: Wood, Marcelo,A.
(949) 824-2259
mwood@uci.edu
Trainees: Undergraduate Students
Project Period: 2019-2024

Other NIH Training Grants

Institute for Clinical and Translational Science NRSA Training
TL1TR001415-05
PI:  Caiozzo, Vincent J.
vjcaiozz@uci.edu
Project Period: 2015 – 2024
Link for abstract
INSTITUTIONAL CAREER DEVELOPMENT CORE
KL2TR001416-05
PI:  Caiozzo, Vincent J.
vjcaiozz@uci.edu
Project Period: 2015 – 2024
MARC AT THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, IRVINE
T34GM136498
PI: Luis Mota-Bravo
Project Period: 2000 – 2025
Link for abstract
K08 MH102336: Mentored Clinical Scientist Research Career Development Award
PI: Stephen Schueller
Project Period: 2020 – 2025
Summer Mentoring and Research Training (SMART)

T35DK128788-01
PI: Gupta, Kalpna
PI: Kalantar, Kamyar
Project Period: 2021-2026
Link for abstract

U.S. Department of Education (DOED)

H325D190031: Integrated Research Training: Languare and Literacy Disabilities
PI: Pena, Liz
edpena@uci.edu
GAANN (Graduate Assistance in Areas of National Need)
P200A180013GAANN: Fellowships in Aerospace Engineering

PI: Jabbari, Faryar
Tel: (949)824-6433
fjabbari@uci.edu

(NCE-Year 4)

P200A210001 GAANN: Graduate Fellowship in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

PI: Sorte, Cascade
Tel:  (949)824-6971
csorte@uci.edu

P200A210003 GAANN: Graduate Fellowships in Psychological Science
P200A210012 GAANN: Graduate Fellowships in Cybersecurity

PI: Malek, Sam
Tel:  (949) 824-0639
malek@uci.edu

P200A210021GAANN: Graduate Fellowships in Aerospace Engineering

PI: Jabbari, Faryar
Tel: (949)824-6433
fjabbari@uci.edu

P200A210024 GAANN: Fellowship in Molecular Biology & Biochemistry

PI: Morrissette, Naomi
Tel: (949)824-9243
nmorriss@uci.edu

P200A210077 GAANN: Graduate Fellowship in Civil & Environmental Engineering

PI: Detwiler, Russell
Tel: (949)824-71532
detwiler@uci.edu

Current NSF Training Grants

NSF Research Traineeship (NRT)
Program- A training incubator for addressing urban environmental change from Ridge to Reef (R2R)
https://r2r.bio.uci.edu 
PI: Steven Allison
(949) 824-2772
allisons@uci.edu
Other
California’s Stem Cell Agency (CIRM) 
The California Institute for Regenerative Medicine (CIRM) Scholar Comprehensive training Program
PI:  Donovan, Peter and Anderson, Bogi
MELLON Foundation

5+2 and Humanities Core: Reforming Graduate Education through Improved Humanities Teaching:  An Integrative Approach 
PI: Tyrus Miller
humanitiesdean@uci.edu

U.S.–China Clean Energy Research Center (CERC) for Water-Energy Solutions and Technologies

Graduate Professional Success in Science, Technology, Engineering & Math (GPS-STEM) program started in October 2019 and is sponsored by the Schools of Biological Sciences, Medicine, Engineering, Physical Sciences and the Provost’s Office. The program serves both PhD students and Postdoctoral fellows from all S.T.E.M disciplines. 

GPS-STEM program is designed to better prepare our scientists for a variety of careers within the S.T.E.M research workforce, and empower them to become not only skilled researchers, but also polished professionals. GPS-STEM works to create, identify and support innovative approaches to broaden graduate and postdoctoral training STEM.

The program is designed to achieve following goals – 

  • Increase awareness and interest in diverse careers outside of academic research (EXPLORE).
  • Improve communication and other skills needed to pursue academic and non-academic career paths (TRAIN).
  • Provide hands-on experience through on campus and external internships (EXPERIENCE).
  • Build networks that allow our members to prepare for and transition to diverse careers (TRANSITION).


GPS-STEM was formerly called GPS-BIOMED, which was funded by a NIH-BEST award to increase career and professional development of trainees in the biomedical sciences. In Oct 2019, after the NIH-BEST funding expired, the program transitioned and expanded to all S.T.E.M disciplines.  

PI: David Fruman 
(949) 824-1947, 2274
dfruman@uci.edu 

Director: Harinder Singh
(949) 824-8372. 

harinder.singh@uci.edu

 

The University of California, Irvine, in accordance with applicable Federal and State law and University policy, does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, gender identity, pregnancy, disability, age, medical condition (cancer-related), ancestry, marital status, citizenship, sexual orientation, or status as a Vietnam-era veteran or special disabled veteran. This nondiscrimination policy covers admission, access, and treatment in University programs and activities.