Graduate Division

Drama MFA

Section 1

Overview

There can be few subjects as broad, or as fundamental to human civilization, as those of Drama and Theatre. While Drama is rightfully considered an entertainment, it is an entertainment that begins with the greatest literature ever written – from the classics of Euripides, Shakespeare and Molière to modern Americans like Tennessee Williams, August Wilson and David Henry Hwang – as presented in the most sophisticated performance techniques from Europe, Asia, Africa and the Americas they have developed over three thousand years. And Theatre – the practice of Drama – is a hands-on collaboration that involves real-time interactions with other artists, and displaying the results of your work to real-life audiences.

What Sets Us Apart?

We are a large program with MFAs in Acting, Directing, Design, Stage Management, and Music Direction/Conducting.

You can learn more about the program here.

Quick Facts

Program Type

Academic Master's Program

Normative Time to Degree

3 years

Capstone Type

Thesis and Production Experience

Accordion Section

Admissions Requirements

Applicants for admission to the degree program must meet the general requirements for admission to graduate study and hold a B.A., B.F.A., or higher degree.

Applicants must submit dossiers of biographical information and theatrical experience, together with photographs, essays, reviews, production books, and portfolios, as appropriate.

Normally an audition is required for all applicants who intend to follow the curriculum in Acting. UCI coordinates its auditions with the University/Resident Theatre Association (U/RTA), and conducts auditions, both for U/RTA finalists and UCI applicants, in New York, Chicago, San Francisco, and Irvine during January and February. Other U/RTA audition sites may be considered. Interviews for applicants in Directing, in Design, in Music Direction, and in Stage Management also are required.

Financial Support

Students applying for scholarships and fellowships should do so by January 15, and are also encouraged to apply for financial assistance through the Office of Financial Aid and Scholarships. The Claire Trevor School of the Arts has a modest number of teaching assistantships available in all areas, and all candidates are automatically reviewed for teaching assistantship positions; the School informs successful candidates by June 1 for the following academic year.

Tuition & Fees

Graduate/Credential Student Fees 2018-19

  Fall 2018 Winter 2019 Spring 2019 Annual
Student Services Fee 376.00 376.00 376.00 1,128.00
Tuition 3,814.00 3,814.00 3,814.00 11,442.00
Assoc. Grad Students Fee 9.00 9.00 9.00 27.00
Student Center Fee 137.88 137.88 137.87 413.63
Bren Events Center Fee 23.00 23.00 23.00 69.00
Recreation Center Fee 88.00 88.00 88.00 264.00
eTech Fee * 60.00 60.00 60.00 180.00
Document Fee † 80.00 0.00 0.00 80.00
Student Health Insurance 1,348.00 1,347.00 1,347.00 4,042.00
Total California Resident $5,795.88 $5,794.88 $5,794.87 $17,385.63
Nonresident Supplemental Tuition 5,034.00 5,034.00 5,034.00 15,102.00
Total Nonresident $10,829.88 $10,828.88 $10,828.87 $32,487.63

Posted 10 August 2018 at http://reg.uci.edu/fees/2018-2019/graduate.html

The tuition, fees, and charges posted to your billing statement or account are estimates based on currently approved amounts. These figures may not be final. Actual tuition, fees, and charges are subject to change by the Regents of the University of California and could be affected by increases or reductions in State funding, or other developments. Accordingly, final approved levels (and thus your final balance due) may differ from the amounts shown.

The non-refundable eTech Fee is required of all students and is used to support the maintenance and improvement of existing education technology, and new services and capabilities. The eTech fee is listed separately as the charged amount varies based on the amount of undergraduate units the student is enrolled in and is assessed later in the term than the other fees listed. The fee is $4 per unit of undergraduate lecture course, up to a maximum amount of $60 (or 15 units) per quarter. It will be assessed after the third week of instruction. The $60 eTech Fee included on this chart reflects the maximum possible fee.

† The Document Fee provides lifetime access to official transcripts and academic verifications without a fee for in-person pickup or delivery by USPS. In addition, there is no fee for mailing the initial diploma. Effective Fall 2018, new undergraduate, professional, and graduate students are assessed the one-time document fee. Eligible students are able to use financial aid to cover the Document Fee.

Core Faculty

Lonnie Alcaraz
department profile
lalcaraz@uci.edu
Professor
Head of Lighting Design

Stephen Barker
department profile
barker@uci.edu
Dean, Claire Trevor School of the Arts
Professor

Cynthia Bassham
department profile
cbassham@uci.edu
Lecturer
Associate Head of Acting

Andrew Borba
department profile
alborba@uci.edu
Assistant Professor

Richard Brestoff
department profile
brestoff@uci.edu
Professor
Head of Acting

Robin Buck
department profile
rbuck@uci.edu
Professor
Vocal Arts

Daniel Gary Busby
department profile
dgbusby@uci.edu
Chair
Associate Professor

Juliette Carrillo
department profile
julietc2@uci.edu
Assistant Professor

Robert Cohen
department profile
cohen@uci.edu
Claire Trevor Professor of Drama, Emeritus

Myrona DeLaney
department profile
mldelane@uci.edu
Lecturer
Head of Music Theatre

Holly Poe Durbin
department profile
hdurbin@uci.edu
Professor
Head of Costume Design / Associate Head of Design

Marcia (Marcy) Froehlich
department profile
mgfroehl@uci.edu
Assistant Professor

Don Hill
department profile
donhill@uci.edu
Senior Lecturer
Head of Stage Management

Michael Hooker
department profile
mhooker@uci.edu
Professor
Head of Sound Design / Head of Design

Brad Hughes
department profile
bhughes@uci.edu
Associated Faculty

Ketu Katrak
department profile
khkatrak@uci.edu
Professor

Martin Katz
department profile
mbkatz@uci.edu
Part-time Lecturer
M.A. San Diego State University

Anthony Kubiak
department profile
akubiak@uci.edu
Professor

Daphne Lei
department profile
dlei@uci.edu
Professor
Head of Doctoral Studies

Annie Loui
department profile
amloui@uci.edu
Professor

Mihai Maniutiu
department profile
mmaniuti@uci.edu
Distinguished Professor of Drama
Ph.D., National University of Theatre and Cinema, Bucharest

Ian Munro
department profile
imunro@uci.edu
Associate Professor

Vincent Olivieri
department profile
olivieri@uci.edu
Professor
Associate Dean for Graduate Affairs

Jane Page
department profile
janepage@uci.edu
Professor
Head of Directing

Andrew Palermo
department profile
palermoa@uci.edu
Assistant Professor
Music Theatre Choreography/Dance

Bryan Reynolds
department profile
bryan.reynolds@uci.edu
Chancellor’s Professor & Claire Trevor Professor
Chancellor's Professor, 2012-2016 / Chancellor's Fellow, 2005-2008

Tara Rodman
department profile
rodmant@uci.edu
Assistant Professor

Eli Simon
department profile
esimon@uci.edu
Chancellor's Professor of Drama

Jaymi Lee Smith
department profile
jaymis@uci.edu
Professor

Philip Thompson
department profile
pthompso@uci.edu
Professor

Sandra Tsing Loh
department profile
stloh@uci.edu
Associate Adjunct Professor

Joel Veenstra
department profile
j.veenstra@uci.edu
Lecturer
Associate Head of Stage Management

Academic Data

academic data

Please click here for data accessible to a screen reader.

Students & Alumni

Drama MFA students are perpetually engaged in a multitude of areas of creative work. Please don’t hesitate to get in touch with the faculty in your specific program of interest in order to learn more about what they’re doing.