Graduate Division

Biotechnology MS

Section 1

Overview

Biotechnology utilizes basic knowledge from the biological sciences, chemistry, and chemical engineering to solve practical problems in the fields of medicine, agriculture and chemical manufacturing.

Over the last 20 years, biotechnology has revolutionized the pharmaceutical industry through the creation of recombinant protein products including bovine and human growth hormones, insulin, interferons, and erthythropoietins. In agriculture, biotechnology has produced herbicides and insect-resistant plants and will have a major impact on society by producing high-yielding nutritious crops that can grow in high salinity, drought, and in extreme cold. In the field of medicine, genetically engineered animals, as well as human gene therapies, have immense potential.

Recently, the discovery of stem cells has been suggested by many to represent one of the most important medical discoveries of past 100 years. Over the last several years there has been a remarkable surge in literature documenting the feasibility of using stem cells to treat a broad spectrum of human diseases including multiple sclerosis, Alzheimer’s disease, cancer, ALS, type-1 diabetes, arthritis, burns, and spinal cord injury. In addition, stem cells are being used in basic research laboratories to help elucidate fundamental concepts in molecular, cellular, and developmental biology.

What Sets Us Apart?

Coming soon.

Quick Facts

Program Type

Academic Master's Program

Normative Time to Degree

2 years

Capstone Type

Research Project Report and Presentation

Accordion Section

Admissions Requirements

This program requires an extensive background in calculus, physics, organic chemistry, genetics, biochemistry, molecular biology, microbiology, immunology and virology. Laboratory courses in at least three of the last five subjects must be completed. However, research experience in those fields may, in certain cases, be substituted for formal laboratory courses.

If your background meets this criteria, we encourage you to apply. If not, another program may be better suited to your background.

Admission is contingent upon the successful completion of a bachelor of science degree, or equivalent. Applications are evaluated on the basis of grades (minimum 3.0 GPA), three recommendation letters, General GRE scores, and other relevant qualifications. Foreign students will be required to submit a TOEFL score and occasionally a TSE score. Applicants from India must submit one of the following in order to be eligible for Graduate studies consideration: a continuous 4 year degree from an accredited University, College or Institution or a completed 3 year Bachelor’s accompanied with a completed 2 year Masters. The combination of 3+2 would be the equivalent of the U.S. Bachelor’s. We do not accept a straight 3 year Bachelor’s nor do we accept a 1 year completion of the 2 year Masters in the 3 + 2 combination. Deadline to apply for the Fall quarter is March 1st. Applicant may contact Ms. Morgan Oldham, Program Administrator, at morgano@uci.edu for additional information.

Enrollment in the stem cell emphasis is limited to 8 continuing students per year. Biotechnology graduate students interested in this track apply for admission during the winter quarter of their first year in the program. The stem cell curriculum differs slightly from that of the traditional biotechnology program, although the total number of courses and laboratories is the same.

Financial Support

  • No support other than financial aid and awarded fellowships is provided for this program.
  • If qualified, students may apply for positions as Teaching Assistants.
  • The University limits employment of enrolled graduate students to 50% time.
  • Students will work in research labs during their second year to earn research units (Mol Bio 200 courses); students may not be compensated for this time.

Tuition & Fees

Graduate/Credential Student Fees 2018-19

  Fall 2018 Winter 2019 Spring 2019 Annual
Student Services Fee 376.00 376.00 376.00 1,128.00
Tuition 3,814.00 3,814.00 3,814.00 11,442.00
Assoc. Grad Students Fee 9.00 9.00 9.00 27.00
Student Center Fee 137.88 137.88 137.87 413.63
Bren Events Center Fee 23.00 23.00 23.00 69.00
Recreation Center Fee 88.00 88.00 88.00 264.00
eTech Fee * 60.00 60.00 60.00 180.00
Document Fee † 80.00 0.00 0.00 80.00
Student Health Insurance 1,348.00 1,347.00 1,347.00 4,042.00
Total California Resident $5,795.88 $5,794.88 $5,794.87 $17,385.63
Nonresident Supplemental Tuition 5,034.00 5,034.00 5,034.00 15,102.00
Total Nonresident $10,829.88 $10,828.88 $10,828.87 $32,487.63

Posted 10 August 2018 at http://reg.uci.edu/fees/2018-2019/graduate.html

The tuition, fees, and charges posted to your billing statement or account are estimates based on currently approved amounts. These figures may not be final. Actual tuition, fees, and charges are subject to change by the Regents of the University of California and could be affected by increases or reductions in State funding, or other developments. Accordingly, final approved levels (and thus your final balance due) may differ from the amounts shown.

The non-refundable eTech Fee is required of all students and is used to support the maintenance and improvement of existing education technology, and new services and capabilities. The eTech fee is listed separately as the charged amount varies based on the amount of undergraduate units the student is enrolled in and is assessed later in the term than the other fees listed. The fee is $4 per unit of undergraduate lecture course, up to a maximum amount of $60 (or 15 units) per quarter. It will be assessed after the third week of instruction. The $60 eTech Fee included on this chart reflects the maximum possible fee.

† The Document Fee provides lifetime access to official transcripts and academic verifications without a fee for in-person pickup or delivery by USPS. In addition, there is no fee for mailing the initial diploma. Effective Fall 2018, new undergraduate, professional, and graduate students are assessed the one-time document fee. Eligible students are able to use financial aid to cover the Document Fee.

Core Faculty

Christopher C.W. Hughes
cchughes@uci.edu
Regulation of angiogenesis, tissue engineering and microphysiological systems
    
Dana W. Aswad
dwaswad@uci.edu
Regulation of protein function by covalent modification
    
Alexander D. Boiko
aboiko@uci.edu
Molecular and Cell Biology of Tumor Initiation, Stem cell biology, application of neural crest and melanoma models
     
Michael J. Buchmeier
m.buchmeier@uci.edu
Arenaviruses, Coronaviruses, Biology of RNA Viruses, Viral Pathogenesis, Structural Biology of Viruses, Biology of Zoonotic and Emerging Viruses, Biodefense
    
Melanie Cocco
mcocco@uci.edu
NMR spectroscopy, DNA-binding proteins, membrane proteins, cancer
 
Michael G. Cumsky
mgcumsky@uci.edu
Mitochondrial protein import; regulation of gene expression in yeast
    
David A. Fruman
dfruman@uci.edu
Targeting signal transduction pathways in leukemia, lymphoma and autoimmune disease
    
Paul D. Gershon
pgershon@uci.edu
Protein mass spectrometry/systems biology; virus-host systems; virus structure; protein experimental molecular dynamics
    
Charles G. Glabe
cglabe@uci.edu
Amyloid A b peptide in Alzheimer’s pathogenesis; gamete recognition
    
Celia Goulding
celia.goulding@uci.edu
Structural and biochemical studies of molecular assemblies in Mycobacterium tuberculosis
    
Michael T. Green
m.green@uci.edu
Chemical Biology, Inorganic and Organometallic, Physical Chemistry and Chemical Physics, Theoretical and Computational
 
    
Yilin Hu
yilinh@uci.edu
Bioinorganic Chemistry, Assembly & Function of Metalloproteins
    
Matthew Inlay
minlay@uci.edu
Molecular mechanisms regulating developmental fate decisions in embryonic and adult hematopoietic stem cells in mice and humans
    
Anthony A. James
aajames@uci.edu
Genetic engineering of insect vectors of malaria and dengue
    
Pavan Kadandale
pavan.k@uci.edu
Increasing student learning and retention in Biology
 
Mei Kong
meik1@uci.edu
Nutritional microenvironment in tumor development and drug response, metabolism and epigenetics, protein phosphatase regulation in diabetes and obesity
 
Melissa Lodoen
mlodoen@uci.edu
Host-pathogen interaction, immune evasion, and parasite immunology
    
Ray Luo
ray.luo@ui.edu
Computational biochemistry and molecular biophysics. Intermolecular interactions in proteins and nucleic acids and their applications to drug design.

Maria “Julia” Massimelli
julia.massimelli@uci.edu
Teaching strategies to immerse students in the scientific field (research-labs, grant proposal writing, paper discussions); strategies to advance minority students; gene regulation in microorganisms.
    
Ilhem Messaoudi
imessaou@uci.edu
Viral pathogenesis, host defense, modulation of immunity by nutrition and aging, impact of the microbiome on immunity
 
Naomi Morrissette
nmorriss@uci.edu
Parasitology, cell biology, microtubules and tubulin function, drug resistance, genetic analysis
    
Irene Pedersen
imp@uci.edu
MicroRNA and disease
    
Thomas L. Poulos
poulos@uci.edu
Protein engineering and crystallography
    
Olga Razorenova
olgar@uci.edu
Biology of cancer, including molecular, cellular and genetic basis of the disease
    
Markus Ribbe
mribbe@uci.edu
Assembly & Function of Metalloproteins
    
Brian Sato
bsato@uci.edu
Assessment of best practices that enhance student learning, Regulation of worm capture by a nematophagous fungus
 
    
Donald F. Senear
dfsenear@uci.edu
Interactions of proteins and DNA in transcriptional regulation
 
Andrea J. Tenner
atenner@uci.edu
Complement mediated regulation:  Neuroinflammation, Alzheimer’s disease, Neuroprotection, Autoimmunity
 
Sheryl Tsai
sctsai@uci.edu
Drug design and crystallography of protein complexes
 
Craig Walsh
cwalsh@uci.edu
Signaling in immune homeostasis, tolerance and autoimmunity
    
Katrine Whiteson
Katrine@uci.edu
Host-associated microbial communities in health and disease, polymicrobial interactions, metagenomics, metabolomics

Academic Data

academic data

Please click here for data accessible to a screen reader.

Students & Alumni

Coming soon.