graduate resources center logo Explore the Inaugural edition UCI is 3rd in Sierra Club ranking of Sustainable Colleges

Training Grants

Graduate Division Training Grant Support

Graduate Division, per approval by the Graduate Dean, supports the efforts of Principal Investigators (PIs) applying for training grants by providing any of the following items:

  • Institutional Letter of Support
  • Matching 25% of Student Support of Grant Expenditures (stipends and tuition/fees only)
  • Predoctoral Student Data
  • Diversity Component (Recruitment and Retention plans) and Campus Professional/Personal Development Resources for Trainees

To receive the above support for training grants, please make a formal request 5 weeks before the SPA due date to Dean Leslie (copying Celina Mojica, the Director of Extramural Funding) with the following information:

  • Name of funding agency and title of training grant
  • The date due to SPA
  • If the grant will include both predoctoral and postdoctoral trainees (needed for Letter of Support)
  • The number of predoctoral trainees to be supported and a preliminary budget for stipends and tuition/fees for trainees (used for tracking Graduate Division cost-share)
  • If Graduate Division support is needed again for a resubmission, please make another formal request to Dean Leslie.
  • Mentoring and professional development plan for trainees

Celina Mojica will coordinate Graduate Division Training Grant Support and should be the point of contact after the request is approved by Dean Leslie.

If the training grant is funded, please provide Celina Mojica with a copy of the agency award letter (used for tracking Graduate Division cost-share) and an annual progress report (same progress report submitted to funding agency).

Active UC Irvine Training Grants

Please confirm all data, regarding application dates and requirements with PIs and faculty

SCHOOL OF BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES

Developmental & Cell Biology

Research Title: California Institute for Regenerative Medicine (CIRM) Stem Cell Training Program
PI: Peter Donovan
(949) 824-3691
pdonovan@uci.edu

NIH T32-Mathematical, Computational and Systems Biology
PI: Arthur Lander
(949) 824-1721
adlander@uci.edu

GAANN Graduate Fellowships for Biology & Genetics
PI: Debra Kay Mauzy-Melitz
(949) 824-2475
dmauzyme@uci.edu

Ecology & Evolutionary Biology

GAANN Graduate Fellowships in Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
PI: Laurence Mueller
(949) 824-4744
ldmuelle@uci.edu 

Molecular Biology and Biochemistry

NIH T32-Training Program in Cancer Biology and Therapeutics (CBT)
PI: David Fruman
(949) 824-1947, 2274
dfruman@uci.edu 

NIH T32-Training Program in Chemical and Structural Biology
PI: Thomas Poulos
(949) 824-7020, 4322, 2856
poulos@uci.edu

Neurobiology & Behavior

NIH-T32 Interdisciplinary Training in the Center for Hearing Research
PI: Raju Metherate
(949) 824-6141
raju.metherate@uci.edu

MBRS Initiative for Minority Student Development

NIH-IMSD Program at the University of California
PI: Luis Mota-Bravo
(949) 824-5680
lmota@uci.edu

HENRY SAMUELI SCHOOL OF ENGINEERING

Biomedical Engineering 

NIH T32-Cardiovascular Applied Research & Enterpreneurship (CARE)
PI: Chris Hughes (joint appt in Molecular Biology and Biochemistry)
(949) 824-8771, 8143, 3379  
cchughes@uci.edu

Chemical Engineering & Materials Sciences

GAANN Graduate Fellowship for Chemical & Biomedical Engeering & Material Sciences Engineering
PI: Martha Mecartney
(949) 824-2919
martham@uci.edu

Biophonics across Energy, Space, & Time (BEST) IGERT
PI: Vasan Venugopala
(949) 824-5802
vvenugop@uci.edu

Opportunities for Nuclear Research and Training in Chemical Engineering and Materials Science Engineering: UC Irvine Nuclear Fellowship Program
PI: Mikael Nilsson
(949) 824-2800
nilssonm@uci.edu

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Australia/US NSF PIRE Grant
PI: Stanley Grant
(949) 824-8277
sbgrant@uci.edu

Electrical Engineering & Computer Sciences

Doctoral Research and Teaching in Micro- and Nano-Technology:Partner University Fund (Cultural Services-French Embassy)
PI: Peter Burke
(949) 824-9243
pburke@uci.edu

Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

GAANN Graduate Fellowships in Aerospace Engineering
PI: Faryar Jabbari
(949) 824-6233
fjabbari@uci.edu

U.S.–China Clean Energy Research Center (CERC) for Water-Energy Solutions and Technologies
PI: Scott Samuelsen
(949) 824-5468
gss@uci.edu

SCHOOL OF MEDICINE

Medical Science Training Program

NIH T32 - Medical Sciences Training Program (MD/PhD students only)
PI: Alan Goldin
(949) 824-5334, 8508
agoldin@uci.edu

Microbiology and Molecular Genetics

NIH T32-Training in the Molecular Biology of Eukaryotic Viruses
PI: Bert Semler
(949) 824-7573, 6058
blsemler@uci.edu

Neurology

NIH T32-Training in the Neurobiology of Aging
PI: Carl Cotman
(949) 824-5847
cwcotman@uci.edu

Ophthalmology

NIH T32-Immunology Research Training Program
PI: Eric Pearlman
(949) 824-1867
eric.pearlman@uci.edu

Orthopaedic Surgery

NIH-T32 UCI Multidisciplinary Exericise Science Training Program
PI: Vincent Caiozzo
(949) 824-5571
vjcaiozz@uci.edu

Pediatrics

NIH T32-Epilepsy Research Training Program
PI: Tallie Baram
(949) 824-1131, 1063
tallie@uci.edu

Psychiatry & Human Behavior

NIH T32-Training Program in Stem Cell Translational Medicine for Neurological Disorders
PI: Leslie Thompson
(949) 824-6756, 1910
lmthomps@uci.edu

SCHOOL OF PHYSICAL SCIENCES

Mathematics

NSF Logic in Southern California with UCLA & California Institute of Technology
PI: Matthew Foreman
(949) 824-5424
mdforema@uci.edu

NSF RTG Research Training Program Mathematical & Computational Biology
PI: Qing Nie
(949) 824-5530
qnie@uci.edu

Physics

GAANN Fellowship for Physics & Astronomy
PI: Asantha Cooray
(949) 824-6832
acooray@uci.edu

DONALD BREN SCHOOL OF INFORMATION AND COMPUTER SCIENCES

School of Humanities

Spanish and Portuguese

GAANN Graduate Fellowships for Spanish
PI: Luis Aviles
(949) 824-7268
laviles@uci.edu

UCI Next Generation PhDs in the Humanities
PI: Julia Lupton
(949) 824-6716
jrlupton@uci.edu

INTERDISCIPLINARY PROGRAMS

NIH BEST: UCI GPS-BIOMED

The NIH-BEST (Broadening Experiences in Scientific Training) grant supports UCI-GPS-BIOMED, a part of the campus-wide UCI-GPS program (UC Irvine Graduate Professional Success).  GPS-BIOMED aims to better prepare graduate students and postdocs for a variety of careers within the biomedical research workforce, and empower trainees to become skilled scientists,and polished professionals. As a member of the NIH-BEST Consortium, we work to create, identify and support innovative approaches which focus on graduate students and postdoctoral scholars in the Ayala School of Biological Sciences, Samueli School of Engineering, School of Medicine, Public Health and Physical Sciences.  Read more.

NIH T32-U.C. Irvine Multidisciplinary Exercise Science Training Program 
PI: David Fruman
(949) 824-1947, 2274
dfruman@uci.edu 

Director: Emma Flores
(949) 824-8372
eflores@uci.edu


girl walking across campus